In My Defense…

Telling people that I am back in school at the ripe, old age of 32 is always something I love, and loathe, to do.

The initial reactions are great…

“You're back in college?! That's great!”

“Good for you!”

“That is so commendable!”

Obviously, positive reactions such as these are rewarding and reaffirming. Returning to college as an adult almost two years ago was not a decision I took lightly. Prior to my current attempt at earning a degree, I tried and failed three times at three different colleges, my last attempt being over ten years ago. So, yes – I do take pride in announcing to the world that I am not only back in school, but I am maintaining a cumulative 4.0 gpa.

The praise skyrockets when people realize that I am also balancing school with a family and a full time job. Suddenly, it's like I'm some kind of mutant superhuman, blessed with the extraordinarily rare powers of multitasking, organization, and time management.

That is the part I love.

Then comes the part I loathe: the one, inevitable follow-up question that brings the bestowing of compliments and well-wishes to a grinding halt, while the bouquets that were just tossed my way instantly wither and die at my feet…

“So, what are you studying?”

Philosphy.

“Oh.” (long pause) “But….. don't you want to study something useful?”

And there it is.

Now, don't get me wrong. I am not ashamed to be studying Philosophy, nor does this usual turn in the conversation discourage me in any way from pursuing a Philosophy degree. Nevertheless, this is the point in the conversation where the pats on the back turn into punches in the gut and I am suddenly under pressure to defend myself and my life choices.

The easiest thing to do is simply shrug my shoulders and reply, “I don't know yet.” While not the truth, this answer is expedient and seems to appease most people, judging by the smug looks that take shape on their faces as they silently ruminate over the fact that they would never waste their degree on something so silly.

However, now that I am armed with a blog, let me make my case and consign it forever to the eternal abyss of the Internet.

First of all, I like philosophy. I enjoy studying every branch of it, from Logic to Epistemology to Mathematical Philosphy to Normative Ethics to Metaphysics ( especially metaphysics). I think it is fascinating stuff, and I just can't seem to get enough of it. And it is not simply “sitting around thinking” all the time, as many people like to imagine. Philosophy is the study of fundamental problems and questions, such as those connected with reality, existence, knowledge, values, reason, mind, and language. Questions like:

  • What is there? What makes something real?
  • Does God exist?
  • What can we know for sure?
  • What is the best moral system?
  • Does man have free will? What is free will?
  • Do we have souls?
  • Is the mind separate from the brain?
  • What are numbers?

The majority of what encompasses the study of philosophy is absorbing and digesting thousands of different theories and then mastering the art of applying those theories to everyday life and the real world around us in a very practical and commonsensical way, which – let's be honest – is something all of us could warrant to do a little more of.

Secondly, I'm good at it. Really good. And it is a part of academia that best utilizes the other thing I think I am pretty good at: writing.

Thirdly, hiring graduates with a B.A. in Philosophy is something that is just now starting to become a very hot trend among both large corporations and small businesses emerging from the recent financial crisis in the U.S. HR department heads are beginning to understand just how vauable an asset philosophy majors can be to their companies. More than any other Liberal Arts major, philosophy helps develop a highly acute, analytical mind. Philosophy majors tend to be the best critical thinkers in the workforce, as well as the most objective and openminded. They think outside the box, problem-solve, visualize potential, and engineer ideas in ways that leave their counterparts with degrees in other fields in their dust. In other words, earning a degree in philosphy opens the doors to getting a job in many different careers, whereas a Microbiology major is pretty much relegated only to a job in Microbiology, a Quantum Physics major is relegated only to a job in Quantum Physics, etc. Don't believe me? Just look here. Or here. Or here.

You get the idea. My point is that what is “useful” to you isn't necessarily what is useful to me.

The promise of engaging in a career down the road that utilizes a degree in a thing I love, a thing I'm good at, and a thing that is in high demand is all I can ask for. And the achievement of such is more than most people can claim for themselves.

I hold no grudges, so don't feel bad if you are one of those people who have questioned me because you don't understand why I'm “wasting” my college career on a “meaningless” major. You don't have to understand it; you don't have to make sense of it. Leave the thinking to us philosopers.

4 thoughts on “In My Defense…

  1. Good for you john! I studied philosophy & poli sci…..and now I teach it 😉 (so there is always that, lol)

  2. I am absolutely full of admiration that you are studying something so awesome and equally impressed that you are clearly so good at it.

Leave a comment